top of page

Review: Viewing Versailles

I have to shamefully admit it took me a while to watch this series, but it only took me a week or so to completely binge it.



[ available at : https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/images/ic/1008xn/p043bxns.jpg ] Why should you watch it?


Well, I would say it's a period of history rarely covered by TV shows. Whilst adaptations of The three Musketeers brush over the years before ( Don't even get me started on The Musketeers otherwise we would be here all day!) it is also based on a book. Versailles focuses on Louis XIV and his long reign and he is a figure of history who people tend to look over ( although I would recommend the film 'A Little Chaos' which depicts him when he is older!).


Versailles is possibly one of the most fascinating programmes I have ever watched. It could be because I knew nothing about it before hand, but it made me want to learn more about the period, who the characters were and the conflicts of religion at the time.


If you're looking for something where you can like the characters, I would go look somewhere else because every character has flaws and a great amount to dislike about them. ( apart from my two ladies, The Princess Palatine and Sophie - they need to be protected at all costs. )


The actors are amazing, just don't fight me on that.


It is quite fast paced, the seasons each have a reasonable time skip between them though it is not too difficult to follow. Honestly, once you start, you'll be addicted.


So, if you're looking for something to get your teeth into, this is certainly a good option! And who knows, you might like some of the characters that I don't. - Amy Burns Queen of Historical Queens

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page